top of page
Search
  • lemonorangelove

Bunny Dream

TITLE: BUNNY DREAM

E-MAIL: adrienne_miranda@yahoo.com

FANDOM: Law and Order SVU

PAIRING: Alex Cabot / Olivia Benson

BEGINNING DATE: 04/23/2004

COMPLETION DATE: 07/11/2004

RATING: PG If same-sex relationships bother you, you might want to read something else. Otherwise, ENJOY!!!!!!!!!

LEGAL STUFF: Copyrighted 2004 by Adrienne Lee. Non-original characters, if applicable, are used without permission under "Fair Use" doctrine. The author reserves all rights attached to all original aspects of this work. This is a work of fiction; any similarity to characters or persons living or dead is strictly coincidental.

SPOILER: Post "Loss". There also might be other bits and pieces from various episodes.

SUMMARY FOR STORY: Another one of Olivia’s funky dreams… And how it came true…

FEEDBACK: Yes, please, please, please feed us!!

“Somehow, I was glowing in the dark. But not everyone could see that. Just me. Me and my father. And I was glowing fluorescent green. I kept trying to hide from my father. I didn’t want him to find me. I had this light that I used to shine on people, and I could see if they glow too. My father, who I’ve never met, well, I’m not sure if he was supposed to be my biological father or not, glowed in red. Like blood. Like a stop light.

“I kept walking past people, shining my light at them. Suddenly, I noticed that someone glowed. Or more precisely, their metal shield on their sleeve which looked like some herald or some insignia, some government insignia, glowed. The man was so fierce looking. I couldn’t tell if he was evil or good. But his shield glowed green, just like I did. He grabbed me, and held me down, and told me I was running a fever, and that he needed to balance my body chemistry so I would stop glowing, so my father who glowed red couldn’t find me. He stuck me in the arm with a big ass needle, injected some red liquid, and I stopped glowing.

“Then I was at a party. There were many people there. People from my childhood. People from my past, people in my life now, people I don’t think I’ve never known. They were drinking water, but some of them acted quite inebriated. My friends gave me gifts. Many gifts and they were funny little gifts. At first I didn’t know why, and then somebody said ‘congratulations, you make a lovely couple’ to me, and I realized it was my wedding party. I opened up one of the gifts. There were these colorful bracelets with cartoon characters on them like Snoopy and Woodstock, and I discovered that one of my grade school classmates, who was an heiress to something, decided to become a designer.

“At that time, I didn’t know if I was male or female. But I knew I had a wife. I looked down at my left hand, and my hand was not as masculine as a guy’s, but quite large for a girl’s. On my ring finger were two rings, a simple gold band, and a silver and gold ring with a square cut rock in the center. And I do mean rock. It was huge and shiny and beautiful and I knew it was flawless. It would make some girl deliriously happy. I guessed that was my engagement ring. So which meant I was a girl. But I had a wife. Just who was my wife? I didn’t know.

“So I went looking for her. I found this woman who looked like Liz. Desai, not Donnelly, oh god, no. And she kissed me. Hard. So I started wondering if she was my wife. Then someone showed up, whose face I couldn’t see, whose body I couldn’t feel, told me they were my wife. So I kissed them.

“Then a short dude, really, really short dude, who might came up to my waist, walked up, and my wife was afraid he had caught us making out. I reassured her that he hadn’t. He went away and we kissed briefly. Then she told me to go wait with my friends while she finished up with her work. But she promised she would come get me before we leave for the Virgin Islands.

“So reluctantly, I went back to my friends, and waited. And in the meantime, I opened another present and it was a latex balloon in the shape of a purple bunny. In my dream, I had this crazy Aunt, who actually might be your Aunt Aileen, or maybe it was Martha, I don’t know. She decided to fill the bunny balloon with some sort of goo, and I watched, quite amused. Right before the bus was supposed to leave, my wife showed up as promised.

“We had a little time to spare, my wife told me she wanted to stop by a flower shop. To get some Bird of Paradise flowers. So we did. The shop was weird. We had to climb up steep steps of water filled buckets to get to the flowers. So I told her I would carry her stuff, and wait for her at the bottom to the last step. Meanwhile, I picked out three stalks of green bamboo and bought them. Although I’m not sure if I actually paid for them or if I just took them. My wife come back with these blood red flowers on green stems. They’re the weirdest Bird of Paradises I’ve ever seen. They looked a little like Brussels sprouts still on the stalks.

“After the stop at the shop, we headed towards the bus station. On the way, I accidentally kicked this shallow square pan filled with water and water got all over the floor. It was a mess and it was wooden floor. I was afraid the water would damage it. So I took the nearest absorbent thing I could find, which was a small 14 by 18 inch or so white rug and I turned it upside down on the biggest spill. Meanwhile, other people came running with rags to soak the water up. My wife got really, really mad at me and left. I stood there, not knowing what I’ve done wrong, and I was distraught. The funny aunt came up to me, and told me not to worry, that my wife would come back in time before the bus got to the Islands. So I got onto the bus with her.

“While on the bus, I saw from the window this blonde woman, who looked like Serena, like Serena with Farrah Fawcett hair, and a smile like Farrah’s. You know I had a crush on her when I was a kid watching Charlie’s Angels. She looked at me, and smiled. But I wasn’t sure if she was smiling at me, or at the guy next to me, who looked like Hank. Is she my wife? I wondered, and flipped the diamond band on my hand so that the rock faced my palm. Essentially, I was trying to hide the fact I was married. But why would I do that? If I thought she was my wife? And I did. But then she walked into a door and closed it behind her.

“Also on the bus, I kept looking back, kept wondering if my wife would show up any moment. I saw this woman, kinda dark, kinda short, like if you take me and sort of squish me down to about five feet, with her five beautiful children trying to catch the vehicle. The next thing I knew, they were all on the bus with me. The driver must have opened the door.

“I sat down, and got really, really whiny. Whiny and weepy. What if she leaves me? What if she doesn’t come back? What do I do? Elliot sat down next to me and put an arm around my shoulders and just hugged me while I whined like a two year old.

“We got off the bus and into a room. It looked like a library. And Dr. Atkins was supposed to show up. Yeah, the diet dude. This little older woman came in and started telling me about the virtues of her shoes. She thought I should have the same ones. They sort of looked like ballet shoes, but also like track shoes. They were blue satin with white stripes and very thin soles. Almost like those Chinese slippers. They were supposed to increase my circulation or something. I don’t remember now.

“I was still really whiny, and weepy. Then the funny aunt came up to me with the purple bunny and started pouring more goo into it. I was mesmerized, and forgot my misery. She overfilled the bunny and the right arm popped off. She said, ‘here, hold this,’ giving me the body, well, the arm hole, ‘So I can sew this back.’ She held the arm up. I did what I was told. But then accidentally, I dropped the needle. I don’t know how I ended up with the needle. I bent down to the floor, then I saw familiar legs two or three feet away from me. Nice, slim but shapely legs in navy blue pumps. The needle was forgotten.

“I looked up, and it was you, with your dark rimmed glasses, straight blonde hair, in your navy blue suit, just like you looked right before you left New York, just like you were still my ADA. And at that moment, I realized you were my wife.

“’Alex! Alex! You came back!’ I yelled. And you just smiled, and opened your arms. I practically flew into them, and you hugged me. ‘I missed you so much,’ I whispered against your neck, and you gave me a tight squeeze and then let go.

“’I brought you flowers. Since I didn’t bring any to your last show,’ you said and handed me a bunch of those funny Bird of Paradise flowers and some other colorful flowers like the bouquets I would get you. ‘They’re all different kinds of Bird of Paradises,’ you said. I took them and kissed you, never asking what show you were referring to. I never asked if you were still mad at me about the water or the rug either.

“Then I took your hand, and led you to the table where the lavender bunny was. The funny aunt had fixed it while you and I were kissing. And we sat down on the bench, and I had my head on your shoulder and you just very gently ruffling my bangs and held me, as I hung onto you. And then I woke up.

“What do you think it all meant?” Olivia lifted her head, and gazed into the amused blue eyes.

“I don’t know,” Alex kissed her softly on the nose. “You and your symbolic dreams. They’re so convoluted. I don’t why you can’t have boring dreams like a normal person. But I can help you with one thing.”

“Yeah?” The brunette asked hopefully, still feeling clingy and confused from the fast fading dream. Not quite wanting to let go when her lover eased from under her embrace.

“Wait here.” She smiled impishly, and put on her robe.

“It’s five a.m. in Paris, where am I gonna go?” Olivia stretched, and pulled Alex’s pillow to herself, looking at the woman before her wistfully. “Where are you going though?”

Alex reached down and mussed up already disheveled dark locks, “Pee. And then you’ll see.”

Laughing lightly, Olivia nodded, “Okay.” She watched as her lover walked out the bedroom, heard the bathroom door closed and opened, and then footsteps moving towards the closet in the sitting area. Finally, the soft gait returned.

“Close your eyes,” Alex poked her head in, and called from the door.

“Done.” She put the pillow over her head for emphasis. Then felt her lover’s weight on the bed.

“Give me your hand.”

Olivia did as she was told, and took out her right hand from under the blankets.

“No, the other one.”

“Okay…” Turning over onto her back, she wondered what was going on. Nevertheless, she gave Alex the hand she asked for. Her heart pounded as warm slender hands took hold of hers, and metal scraped gently across her skin. Full lips then pressed against her finger, for an instant that seemed to linger on and on. Until only sensation of the metal band remained.

“You can look now.” Alex said as she flipped off the pillow.

She opened her eyes to find her angel smiling down on her. Reaching up, she brushed her thumb along the heart-stopping smile, meanwhile trying to steady herself. Finally, she turned her hand. “What’s this?” She gasped, her voice soft and full of wonder.

“The ring in your dream, I presume?”

“Yes, but wasn’t it also…” She had recognized it from photographs she saw at Mondestin. “Your great grandfather’s…”

Alex just smiled. “Maybe we’ll have a love like theirs…”

“When?” Olivia asked, still not confident with her voice. “Did you get it from Nicole?”

“No. My mom sent it to me right before Christmas.” She shrugged, then colored lightly. “I think she thought I should have given it to you then…”

“Why didn’t you?”

“I don’t know.” Quietly, she answered, playing with the new addition on her own finger. “I guess I was waiting for you to give me this? I didn’t want to be presumptuous… And I didn’t know how you’d feel about it. Feminine-looking that it is, it’s still a man’s ring.”

“You kidding me? In a way, you’re sharing your family… I mean, I have a part of your…” She tried to find the right words to express the overwhelming feelings all jumbled up in her head and threatening to make her heart burst. “Oh my god, a girl can only dream of a rock like this!”

Alex laughed. “I’m glad I could make one of your dreams come true.”

“Oh, sweetheart,” she let the string of clear laughter settle around her soul. “You are my dream come true.”

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

DANCE THE ORANGE, DANCE THE SUN

TITLE: Dance the Orange, Dance the Sun DATE: 2011-12 “A star can and will fade, and the world will keep turning. But the sun… nothing lives without the sun.” – Rodrigo, the retired bullfighter. “Bu

THE MISTS OF FOREVER

TITLE: THE MISTS OF FOREVER FANDOM: Law and Order SVU PAIRING: Alex Cabot / Olivia Benson DATE: January 16, 2004 to November 23, 2008 FEEDBACK: Makes a

AUTUMN IN NEW YORK

TITLE: OPEN YOUR EYES: AUTUMN IN NEW YORK AUTHOR: Adrienne Lee DISCLAIMER: Any similarities to people and events real or made up are purely coincidental. This is a work of fiction with characters

bottom of page