top of page
Search
  • lemonorangelove

Me and Mrs. B

TITLE: ME AND MRS. B

FANDOM: Law and Order SVU

PAIRING: Alex Cabot / Olivia Benson

BEGINNING DATE: 02/00/2004

COMPLETION DATE: 08/05/2004

RATING: PG If same-sex relationships bother you, you might want to read something else. Otherwise, ENJOY!!!!!!!!!

LEGAL STUFF: Copyrighted 2004 by Adrienne Lee. Non-original characters, if applicable, are used without permission under "Fair Use" doctrine. The author reserves all rights attached to all original aspects of this work. This is a work of fiction; any similarity to characters or persons living or dead is strictly coincidental.

SPOILER: Post "Loss". There also might be other bits and pieces from various episodes.

SUMMARY FOR STORY: The title says it all…

FEEDBACK: would make a girl really, really happy!

“Benson.” A quick belated glance at the caller ID, and her features visibly softened, a silly smile danced on her lips. “Hey. How are you?”

“Running late,” Alex replied. “We’re taking a break just so I can call you. Do you think you could pick up Alexis?”

She brushed the imaginary dust off of her empty desk. “Sure. Whatever my Baby needs.”

“Are you sure? I could see if Edith…”

“Really, Sweetheart, I’m sure Edith has her hands full with Livvie.” She shot a dagger at her leering partner. “I’ll go get Alexis.”

“Whew.” The blonde breathed a sigh of relief, then went directly into business mode. “Good. They take the kids out to the parents after school, so you can just swing by, and pick her up in front. That way, you don’t have to go in at all, and you don’t have to worry about parking.”

“I’m sure I’ll figure out.” Olivia responded good-naturedly. “Are you going to be busy this evening?”

“Why?” The lawyer voice went away again. “Do you have anything special in mind?”

She looked around, covered her mouth, and spoke softly into the phone, “Everything’s always special with you.”

“You’re such a charmer,” Alex laughed. “I gotta go. But I’ll see you when I get home.”

“Good luck with the negotiation.”

“Thanks. Hey, I think we’re on our own for food. Do you know what you want to do for dinner?”

“You, I hope?”

“Great, how do you expect me to go back into my meeting with that on my mind?”

The brunette grinned mischievously. “I thought it makes you sharp?”

“I’ll talk to you later.”

“What about dinner?”

“You’ve got yourself a date.”

“Don’t forget the carrots.” Olivia smiled at the exasperated ‘You’ and waited until the line clicked before she hung up the phone.

“Whatever my baby needs?” Elliot wasted no time.

“I was talking about Alexis.”

“Yeah, right. And I’m the governor of New York.”

“Shut up, Elliot.” She warned.

“You know,” he put down his coffee cup and rubbed his chin thoughtfully. “It’s a good thing you don’t hang around me and Kathy so much these days.”

“Why?”

“I don’t want my wife to know there’s a brand new meaning to the word ‘whi…’.”

Cutting her partner off, Olivia hotly denied, “Am not!”

“Whatever, Liv.” Elliot smirked, “Say, maybe there’s a new definition for ‘delusional’, too. Do you want to look it up? Or should I?” and pointed at their computers.

“Yeah, well…” she paused, trying to think of a comeback.

“Well, what? Liv?” He taunted. “Have you gone soft, too? Soft and whipped. Hm… that sounds awful like a dessert. Is that on the dinner menu?”

Pushing her chair back, and picking up her coat, she spat. “Screw you, Elliot.”

“No, thanks!” He called after her retreating form.

“How may I help you?” The receptionist greeted Olivia as soon as she walked in.

“Hi,” The brunette checked out the name plague. “Monica. I’m here to pick up Alexis Benson.” She smiled, and moved towards the waiting area. “I know I’m a little early, so I’ll just wait over there.”

“Excuse me, usually we ask the parents to call if someone else is to pick up their children for them.” She looked at Olivia slightly distrustfully, while flipping through her log book. “I don’t see any message here from Mrs. Benson.”

“I am Olivia Benson.” She started to pull out her ID. “Det. Oliv… Wait, did you say Mrs. Benson?”

“Yes?” Now the woman was really suspicious. “And how are you related to Alexis?” She asked while handing the brunette back her ID and badge.

“I’m her mother? I mean, her mother.” Olivia responded, more flustered than she realized. “The Mrs. Benson… Is she blond? Blue eyed? About my height? And usually wears a suit and a pink shirt?”

“Yes.” Monica replied, her demeanor slightly more friendly. Still, she gave the other woman a quizzical look.

“I’m sorry.” The detective tried to wipe the wide grin off her face. “I just didn’t know… I mean…” Wow.

“Yes?”

“The blonde, she’s my domestic partner. Her last name’s O’Brien.”

“Oh, I’m sorry. Alexis calls her Mommy,” Now it was Monica’s turn to blush. “I just assumed, and she never corrected me. Oh, god. I’m so embarrassed.”

“It’s okay.” Finally finding her normal composed self, Olivia assured, “I’m sure if she cared, she would have said something to you.”

“To think, all this time…” The woman held her cheeks in her hands. “I’m so sorry…”

“It’s all right, Monica. It’s really not a big deal.” Right. The word ‘denial’ is very open to interpretation… “I’m sure…” The brunette tried again to convince the woman, and herself.

Finally, dismissal time arrived, and both women were provided with other distractions.

“Hi, Mommee!” Alexis rushed up to Olivia and jumped into her arms.

“Hi, Sweetie, did you have a good day?” She asked, while walking towards her car.

“Yes.” She nodded and latched onto her mother’s neck. “Did you have a good day, too?”

“A beautiful day, Cutie.”

“Where’s Mommy?”

“Mommy’s at work.” Olivia replied as she extricated herself and buckled Alexis in.

In a small disappointed voice, she said. “Oh.”

“Oh?”

“I was going to tell her all about school.”

“Well, you can tell me all about school, okay, Sweetie?”

“Okay!” Happily, and excitedly, the little blonde girl agreed. She waited until her mother got into the driver’s seat and proceeded to tell her anything and everything that happened that eventful day. By the time they got home, she was ready to take her dinner. When her other Mommy got home, she was already in bed and waiting for her bedtime story…

“You look like you ate a canary.” Alex commented after they tucked Livvie in as well, and was changing out of her work clothes.

“So…” Olivia hung up the jacket, then proceeded to unzip her lover’s skirt. She held Alex steady as she stepped out of the garment, then added it to the hanger.

Turning towards the sink, and removing her contacts, the blonde pursued, “Yes?”

“How long…”

Alex smiled at the brunette’s reflection, and bent around to place a kiss on her cheek. “How long what?”

“How long have you been Mrs. Benson to Monica?”

She started to say something, then stopped. Pausing to fill in the cleaning solution, and putting everything away. Knowing Olivia was waiting for her answer, she started, and stopped again. Finally, in a hushed voice, and blushing furiously, she managed, “You went in.”

“Yes?” She pulled her partner around to face her. “Wait, is that why you wanted me to pick Alexis up out front?”

“Usually the kids just run to their parents or nannies.” And no one says anything, she thought to herself.

“I see…” Olivia lifted her lover’s chin so their eyes met. “So, how long?”

Twisting away and returning to her routine, Alex attempted to sound nonchalant. “Since the first day of school. I didn’t want to confuse Monica too much, so I didn’t correct her.” She said, and handed the brunette her shirt.

While in the closet, she began humming softly.

Surprised by the lack of further comments, the blonde asked, “What’s that tune?”

“Me and Mrs. Jones. Well,” Olivia walked back into the bathroom, and started singing, a lop-sided smile on her lips, “Me and Mrs. B… We got a thing goin'on… We both know that it's wrong. But it's much too strong to let it go now...”

Alex lifted an eyebrow, and tapped the brunette on the nose. “It’s wrong? What’s so wrong about us?”

“Absolutely nothing wrong about us, except,” she eased between the blonde and the sink. “Well, technically, what Monica called you…” Once more, she held her lover close. “But you still want to be called Mrs. Benson, don’t you?”

“Do you mind?”

“No.” Olivia grinned. Back to her Cheshire cat mode. “Did you think I would?”

She rested her forehead against the brunette’s, and adjusted her necklace. “I don’t know.”

“I must say I’m surprised though. Strong independent woman that you are.”

“That’s only the work me.”

“And the non-work you?”

“That me is all about being your… yours.”

“My…?”

“Wife.” Alex leaned into the embrace. “Your wife.”

“I like that. A lot.”

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

DANCE THE ORANGE, DANCE THE SUN

TITLE: Dance the Orange, Dance the Sun DATE: 2011-12 “A star can and will fade, and the world will keep turning. But the sun… nothing lives without the sun.” – Rodrigo, the retired bullfighter. “Bu

THE MISTS OF FOREVER

TITLE: THE MISTS OF FOREVER FANDOM: Law and Order SVU PAIRING: Alex Cabot / Olivia Benson DATE: January 16, 2004 to November 23, 2008 FEEDBACK: Makes a

AUTUMN IN NEW YORK

TITLE: OPEN YOUR EYES: AUTUMN IN NEW YORK AUTHOR: Adrienne Lee DISCLAIMER: Any similarities to people and events real or made up are purely coincidental. This is a work of fiction with characters

bottom of page